The Final Vote

Transcript of the printed final vote on the Articles of Union, 16 January 1707 (NRS reference RH18/4/14)

In the Parliament the 16 January 1707, a Vote was put, Approve of the Act Ratifying and Approving the Treaty of Union of the two Kingdoms of Scotland and England, Yea or Not, and it carried Approve: And the List of the Members Names as they Voted, Approve or Not, (ordered to be Printed) is as follows.

Approvers

Of the Nobility

The Lord Chancellor allowed to be Printed amongst the Approvers by special Order of Parliament.

Marquess of Montrose P.S.C., Duke of Argyll, Marquess of Tweeddale, Marquess of Lothian

Earls

Mar Sec, Sutherland, Rothes, Mortoun, Glencairn, Abercorn, Roxburgh, Haddingtoun, Lawderdale, Wemyss, Dalhousie, Findlater, Leven, Northesk, Ballcarres, Forfar, Kilmarnock, Kintore, Marchmont, Cromarty, Roseberry, Glasgow Ther. Dept., Hoptoun, Delorain, Ilay.

Viscount

Duplin

Lords

Forbes, Elphingstoun, Ross, Torphichen, Fraser, Banff, Elibank, Duffus, Rollo, *Lord* Register, Lord Justice-Clerk

Of the Barons

Sir Robert Dickson of Inverask, William Nisbet of Dirletoun, Jo. Cockburn, younger of Ormistoun, Sir John Swintoun of that Ilk, Sir Alexander Campbell of Cesnock, Sir William Ker of Greenhead, Archibald Douglas of Cavers, William Bennet of Grubbet, Mr John Murray of Bowhill, Mr John Pringle of Haining, Will. Morison of Prestoungrange, Alexander Horseburgh of that Ilk, George Bailie of Jerviswood, Sir John Johnstoun of Westerhall, William Douglas of Dornock, Mr William Steuart of Castle-Stewart, Mr John Steuart of Sorbie, Mr Francis Montgomery of Giffan, Mr William Dalrymple of Glenmuir, Mr Robert Steuart of Tillicultry, Sir Robert Pollock of that Ilk, Mr John Montgomerie of Wrae, John Halden of Glenagies, Mongo Grahame of Gorthy, Sir Thomas Burnet of Leyes, Will Seton younger of Pitmedden, Alexander Grant yor of that Ilk, Sir Kenneth Mackenzie, Mr Aeneas M'leod of Cadboll, Mr John Campbell of Mammore, Sir James Campbell of Auchinbreck, Ja. Campbell yor of Ardkinglass, Sir William Anstruther of that Ilk, James Halyburton of Pitcurr, Alexander Abercrombie of Glassoch, Mr James Dunbar yor of Hemprigs, Alexander Douglas of Eagleshaw, John Bruce of Kinross.

http://www.scottisharchivesforschools.org

© Crown copyright: National Records of Scotland This resource may be reused freely for educational purposes. For all other proposed reuse including any publication, please email: onlineresources@nas.gov.uk

Scottish Archives for Schools online resources The Union of 1707

Of the Burrows

John Scrimsour, Liet. Coll. Jo: Areskin, John Muir, James Scot, Sir John Areskine, James Spitle, Mr Patrick Moncrieff, Sir Andrew Home, Sir Peter Halket, Sir James Smollet, Mr William Carmichael, Mr William Sutherland, Captain Daniel Mcleod, Sir David Dalrymple, Sir Alexander Ogilvie, Mr John Clerk, John Ross, Sir Hugh Dalrymple, Mr Patrick Ogilvie, George Allardyce, William Alvis, Mr James Bethun, Mr Rorie M'kenzie, John Urquhart, Daniel Campbell, Sir Robert Forbes, Mr Robert Douglas, Mr Alexander Maitland, Mr George Dalrymple, Mr Charles Campbell.

Sic Subscribitur Seafield Cancellar I.P.D.P.

Noe's

Of the Nobility Duke of Hamilton, Marquess of Annandale

Earls Errol, Marischal, Buchan, Caithness, Wigtoun, Galloway

Viscounts Stormont, Kilsyth

Lords

Saltoun, Semple, Oliphant, Balmerino, Blantyre, Bargany, Belhaven, Colvil, Kinnaird

Of the Barons

Sir John Lauder of Fountainhall, Andrew Fletcher of Saltoun, Sir Robert Sinclair of Longformacus, Sir Patrick Home of Rentoun, Sir Gilbert Eliot of Minto, William Bailie of Lamingtoun, John Sinclair yor of Stevenson, James Hamilton of Aikenhead, Mr Alexander Ferguson of Isle, Sir Hugh Cathcart of Carletoun, John Brisbine younger of Bishopstoun, Mr Will: Cochran of Kilmaronock, Sir Humphrey Colquhoun of Luss, Sir John Houstoun of that Ilk, Robert Rollo of Powhouse, Thomas Sharp of Houstoun, John Murray of Strowan, Alexander Gordon of Pitlurg, John Forbes of Culloden, David Beathun of Balfour, Major Henry Balfour of Dunboig, Mr Thomas Hope of Rankeilor, Mr Patrick Lyon of Auchterhouse, Mr James Carnagie of Phinhaven, David Grahame younger of Fintrie, William Maxwell of Cardiness, Alexander Mckye of Palgoun, James Sinclair of Stempster, Sir Henry Innes younger of that Ilk, Mr George Mackenzie of Inchcoulter.

Of the Burrows

Robert Inglis, Alexander Robertson, Walter Stuart, Hugh Montgomery, Alexander Edgar, Alexander Duff, Francis Molison, Walter Scot, Robert Scot, Robert Kellie, John Hutcheson, Archibald Sheils, Mr John Lyon, George Brodie, George Spence, Sir David Cuninghame, Mr John Carruthers, George Home, John Bayne, Mr Robert Frazer.

Sic Subscribitur Seafield Cancellar I.P.D.P.

http://www.scottisharchivesforschools.org

© Crown copyright: National Records of Scotland This resource may be reused freely for educational purposes. For all other proposed reuse including any publication, please email: onlineresources@nas.gov.uk